Sign Up

Don't miss keynote speaker updates, deadlines, and everything you need to know for the virtual conference.

AMSA/GLMA LGBTQ+ Health Achievement Award

AMSA/GLMA LGBTQ+ Health Achievement Award

Created in 1999, the AMSA/GLMA Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ+) Health Achievement Award has showcased efforts in the advancement and inclusion of LGBTQ+ health issues throughout the health profession and patient care. AMSA and GLMA members can nominate multiple schools, groups, individuals, or other entities that have successfully advocated for acknowledgement or equality relating to LGBTQ+ health issues. Previous award winners have been commended for their impact on health education, patient care, or improving the environment for LGBTQ+ students.

The overarching goal of this award is provide national recognition to those contributing to the advancement of LGBTQ+ community as well as showcase their models of success at their institution. It is our hope that these advancements inspire and promote equal opportunities for all members of the LGBTQ+ community.

Eligibility Requirements

Any school, group or individual who has achieved exemplary success in advocating for the inclusion and advancement of LGBTQ+ issues.

Nomination & Selection Process

  • Nominations close on April 28, 2023.
  • AMSA and GLMA members can submit nominations through the online nominations form above.
  • You may nominate more than one school, group or individual.
  • All nominations will be blinded prior to selection committee review.
  • The selection committee will be comprised of  AMSA and GLMA Leaders.

Award recipients are selected for:

  • Demonstrated positive impact on health education, patient care, and/or environment for LGBTQ+ students, faculty and patients within institutions and beyond;
  • Innovative means by which goals are achieved and success is sustained; and
  • How any barriers encountered while advocating for the inclusion and advancement of LGBTQ+ health issues within their institutions and beyond are overcome.

Presentation & Award

  • Awards will be presented at the Future Physicians for Change 2023 and the 2023 GLMA Annual Conference on LGBTQ+ Health.
  • Award recipients will be presented with an elegant glass trophy.
  • Award recipients will receive one complimentary registration to Future Physicians for Change and GLMA Annual Conference on LGBTQ+ Health.
  • Award recipients will be highlighted in The New Physician (TNP) as well as on AMSA’s and GLMA’s websites and social media pages.

Questions? Contact us at amsa@amsa.org.

2022 Diversity and Rural Advocacy Group, Oklahoma State University

2021 Teddy G. Goetz, MD, MS, Columbia University College of Medicine

2020 Michael Solotke, Yale School of Medicine

2019 Masina Wright, University of New England College of Medicine

2018 Shana Zucker, Tulane University School of Medicine

2017 Nix Sitkin, Yale School of Medicine

2016 Southern California LGBT Health Conference

2015 The Equality Clinic of Augusta

2014 Sean Tai, Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine – Virginia Campus

2013 Kristen Eckstrand from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine

2012 Bobby Kelly, MEd, Drexel University College of Medicine Class of 2012

2011 Neir Eshel and Michael Honigberg and the entire Harvard Medical School Kinsey Two Sixers LGBTQ and Ally Group

2010 University of Kentucky Health Occupation Professionals for Equality (UK HOPE)/University of Kentucky AMSA Chapter

2009 Brown University Medicine School

2008 Keck School of Medicine of the University of Southern California

2007 Jessica Wang and UMASS Faculty Advisor Emily Ferrara, University of Massachusetts Medical School

2006 Association of Gay, Lesbian, and Ally Medical Students and AMSA Chapter at the UMDNJ, RWJ

2005 Univ of Michigan Medical School, Bisexuals, Gays, Lesbians and Allies in Medicine

2004 Medical College of Georgia Lambda Alliance

2003 Univ of Southern California SOM, MedGLO news

2002 Albany Medical College, LGBTPM

2001 University of Pennsylvania SOM, SOMA & LGBPM

2000 New York University SOM, Peter Chien, Jr.

1999 University of Washington SOM


Established 1999