Sign Up

Don't miss keynote speaker updates, deadlines, and everything you need to know for the virtual conference.

Women Leaders in Medicine Awards

Women Leaders in Medicine Awards

The Women Leaders in Medicine (WLIM) awards were created by AMSA in 2008 to recognize women physicians and educators who are changing the face of medicine through their lives, their professions, or their teaching. These women deserve recognition for their accomplishments and dedication to fostering tomorrow’s women leaders in medicine.

Medical and premedical students are encouraged to fill out the online nominations form and tell us about an inspiring woman who has influenced the student’s medical career. They could be professors that you’ve had or they could be women who you have never met but have impacted your careers through their amazing work.

Many of our past award recipients have considered their Women Leaders in Medicine award a truly meaningful honor because it comes directly from the voices of students. At AMSA, we hope to give back some recognition to these amazing women in addition to generating awareness about the importance of fostering leadership in medicine that promotes healthy change and equality in care and professional opportunity for all physicians-in-training.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Any woman physician and/or educator who is changing the face of medicine through their lives, their professions or their teaching.

Nomination & Selection Process

  • Nominations close on April 17, 2023.
  • Any AMSA medical or pre-medical student members can submit nominations.
  • You may nominate more than one woman physician and/or educator.
  • The selection committee will be comprised of members from the Action Committee on Gender and Sexuality, the National President, and AMSA Staff.

Presentation & Award

  • Award will be presented at the 2023 AMSA Convention and Exposition.
  • Award recipients will be recognized at the general session and presented with an elegant glass trophy.
  • Award recipients will receive a complimentary registration to the AMSA National Convention.
  • Award recipients will be highlighted in The New Physician (TNP) as well as on AMSA’s website and social media pages.

Questions? Contact us at events@amsa.org.

Reshma Jagsi, MD

Uche Blackstock, MD
Chanelle Diaz, MD, MPH
Becky Martin
Rupa Marya, MD
Michelle Roett, MD, MPH, FAAFP, CPE

Kathy Jo Carstarphen, MD
Frances Casey, MD
Hodon Mohamed, DO
Kelly Thibert, DO

Melina Kibbe, MD
Katharine Morrison, MD

Carmen Rexach, MS, PhD
Alissa Peterson, MD

Barbara J. Stoll, MD

Wanda Flier, MC, MBA, FAAFP
Lauren S. Hughes, MD, MPH, MSc
Sujatha Prabhakaran, MD, MPH

Cheryl Chastine, MD
Mary F. Gardner, M.D.
Leana S. Wen, M., MSc
Pamela L. Wible, MD

Wanda B. Barfield, MD, MPH, FAAP
Karen B. DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc
Rebekah E. Gee, MD, MPH, FACOG
Kathryn Hayward, MD
Katherine Kropf, DO
Jody Steinauer, MD

Katherine Chretien, MD
Carolyn Clancy, MD
Petra Clark-Dufner
Sophie Currier, MD
Laura Tosi, MD

Rear Admiral Susan J. Blumenthal, MD, MPA
Rebecca Richards-Kortum, PhD
Barbara Gerbert, PhD
Carol Williams-Nickelson, PhD
Diljeet Singh, MD, PhD
Caroly Koffler, MD, DrPH
Gretchen Birbeck, MD, MPH, DTMH, FAAN

Gloria Bachmann, MD
Margaret Bia, MD
Jane H. Brice, MD, MPH
Sanda Moutsios, MD
Marcella Nunez-Smith, MD, MHS
Lynne Richardson, MD
Grace Rozycki, MD
Susan Wood, MD

Regina Benjamin, MD, MBA
Donna Elliott, MD, EdD
Joslyn Fisher, MD, MPH, FACP
Lynne McCullough MD, FACEP
Laura Mosqueda, MD
Rachael Phelps, MD
Vivian Pinn, MD

Vanessa Northington Gamble, MD, PhD
Jennifer Giroux, MD, MPH
Julie Gerberding, MD, MPH
Rita Charon, MD, PhD
Beth Jordan, MD
Archana Mishra, MD, MS

Marcia Angell, MD
Pamela Davis, MD, PhD
Joycelyn Elders, MD
Evangeline Franklin MD, MPH
Evaleen Jones, MD
Susan Partovi, MD
Kristen Stueber, MD
Kim Templeton, MD
Gloria Wilder, MD, MPH
Carmen Zorilla, MD

Established in 2008